Wound care.

                The surgery on my nose was healing great but because I now had bone instead of Cartilage it was stiff and would hurt every time I touched it especially if I tried to itch it and forget trying to blow it. It took probably a full year for my nose to not be so sensitive, it still hurts occasionally but my nose wasn’t the problem.               

The bottom of my foot had become extremely sensitive after that surgery. I had that surgery so I could start trying to stand and eventually take some steps but the nerve damage from him cutting me and splitting and moving the tendons around in my foot and ankle was almost unbearable. The doctor had to prescribe me a nerve medication so that people could touch my foot without getting a huge reaction from me. When someone would touch the bottom of my foot I would spasm and they might have gotten kicked. The skin on my foot had become so tender; it was like new baby skin and because of the wound on my heel I wasn’t even able to wear a shoe.

Until the wound was better. after my surgery my mom and I would have to drive almost forty minutes, one way to see the doctor so he could dress the wound. We did that for I think almost a year but the doctor preforming the wound care on me was not a wound care doctor and he was using a method that seemed archaic and wasn’t working all that well, so my mom found a doctor that specialized in severe wounds and we started going to him.

The drive was just as long but we had become hopeful, except now my parents job would intensify.   

Instead of the old fashion wet/dry method that the surgeon had been doing now they would have to dress the wound twice a day and apply medication each time.

We had to drive out to Redlands twice a week for more than six months before seeing a change at all but I only had one foot and we had to get it better. . We saw only slight improvements in the beginning but the whole atmosphere was great. We enjoyed the people and really liked the doctor.  . I still had a good pulse in my foot but the circulation was now compromised due to the scarring so healing was very slow.  

Eventually we were going once a week but the wound just wasn’t getting better, they had hyperbaric oxygen chambers there that they used to help with wound care but somehow I didn’t qualify for that but thank God for technology.  A medical manufacture had a new invention and they brought it to the hospital and they wanted the doctor to pick three of his hardest cases, wounds that wouldn’t heal and I definitely qualified for that. 

They used a centrifuge to spin down my blood and separate the red blood cells from the white, which are the blood cells that heal and then they put the white blood cells directly on the wound. .   It was only supposed to take three applications and mine took twice as many but hey it worked.

So after taking antibiotics that made my stomach bleed and countless injuries to my exposed toes and foot and only twenty-seven months my foot was finally wound free and now I could finally do some standing which would turn out to be harder than I thought.

4 thoughts on “Wound care.

  1. kakiyork

    Jennifer,
    I have been following your story since you started your blog. Thanks for sharing. I hope the writing adds at least a little to the healing of your trauma. Today’s post is especially meaningful to me. I have known a number of people to have problems with wounds healing. On top of everything else you have had to deal with, and all that pain. You had no choice but to get help and endure it when nothing else was possible. I’m sure your mom would have driven to the moon and back if it would have ended your pain. P.S. I did not get to go to the Houston quilt show, but really enjoyed the seeing pictures of you there. What a victory!! And of course, your little dog, very cute!

    Reply
  2. Peggy L Calvert

    Jennifer, I think that you should be the cover girl for a Strong Woman magazine! Now that your foot is healed, you can work on 10 more things, right? I am guessing that you have little time to be bored, and that your energy is focused much on baby steps, no pun intended there. Hope you and your family can get some fun/play time during the holidays ahead! I can recommend the ukulele for joy in a small package! In many places around the world and in many cultures when a vessel cracks it is repurposed and it takes on an even more interesting job! May you find that this is so! Peggy

    Reply
  3. joantav

    You are so brave and have gone through a really unimaginable road to recovery. Nothing came easy to you along this path. But someone up above had plans for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

