A break for Christmas. .

 

Isaiah 9:6
For unto us a child is born, unto us a Son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder,
And his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, and Prince of Peace.

I thought I would share some of my favorite Christmas’s with you. I am blessed to still have memories of them!
Our grandpa was great, he was actually our step-grandpa but he embraced the role wholeheartedly. There were many Christmases when he would always arrive on Christmas day with no less than 5, 32 gallon trash bags full of presents and he would put scratcher lotto tickets in our stockings, we never won big but it was still very exciting, at least for me.

Grandpa and grandma laughing

When I was small our grandpa came over in the middle of the night on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning dressed up as Santa Claus, my parents woke us all up and snuck us down the hall and as we looked around the corner low and behold there was Santa Claus. He was filling our stockings but as we were peeking around the corner our miniature Poodle Peter ran out barking and nipping at poor Old Saint Nick and I heard “Santa” say “shoo” as Peter grabbed onto his pants and “Santa” tried to shake him off. That is a great memory, God bless my grandpa!

There were a few Christmas’s when my brother would come and wake me up in the middle of the night, with flashlight in hand and we would sneak out to see if there was anything we got that couldn’t be wrapped for whatever reason. One Christmas it was a bike for, I think my little sister and there was a skateboard, the skateboard might have been wrapped but it was pretty obvious what it was.
I was never a girly girl I always liked to play with toys that were considered “boy toys” like He-man and his pet tiger, Sheara and her Pegasus, dinosaur transformers, (some of which I still have). This one year there was a movie out called The Ewok adventure, and the stores had the Ewok treehouse village. I think that was all I wanted that Christmas, or at least the thing I wanted the most that year. When I saw that village with all the trees and the bridges and tunnels connecting the trees together, I was so excited. I loved that toy. I would not only put the Ewoks in the treehouse but He-man’s tiger and my dinosaurs.
One Christmas I was continually being woken up by a noise I didn’t recognize, it was like a very high squeaking like metal on metal but then it would stop and I would go back to sleep. My brother knew what it was and he was excited to show it to me, so he comes and wakes me up, flashlight in hand we go out to the den and right next to the Christmas tree was a cute, fluffy hamster. I have always loved animals and I loved that little ball of fluff.
t tolerate my parents and she had a huge problem with the farrier.t have a horse of my own I could ride for at least a year or two. My mom took me out looking for another horse and I would ride those horses and that was fun but I wanted a horse of my own. t think there were a lot of presents under the tree for me but we always got great stockings and that year was no different. After everyone had finished opening the gifts in our stockings then it was time to go over to the Christmas tree and begin opening up those presents but I only had a few to open so I sat and watched and would get excited for them when they would open at yet opened all their gifts when our parents tell me that one of my gifts was outside. Huh? So we all walked outside and there he was, because it was winter his coat was extra fluffy so he looked super cute. His name was Spirit; he had a long white mane and tail that I enjoyed brushing and braiding.

me on Spirit

Our parents didn’t always have a lot of money and there were a few years when they would tell us that they weren’t going to be able to give us a big Christmas but I don’t remember a single Christmas that we felt shorted. For me, I couldn’t have ask for better parents

! I HOPE EVERYBODY HAS A JOYOUS CHRISTMAS!

3 thoughts on “A break for Christmas. .

  1. Dianne Whiting

    Loved reading this Jenn — thank you. Blessings to you and your dear family – exciting time with a new baby in the family. Love to you.
    Dianne

    Reply
  2. Joan T

    I loved your stories. Wishing you all a wonderful Christmas and New Year!!! You have a great family to love and enjoy. May 2014 bring you love, joy, peace, and good health.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

